The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey : Thorin's Map - PROP REPLICA

Review this item

You must be logged in to review this item

Reviews

eriki7181
07/02/14
Weta Collector
5 stars

map

Well worth it. I was pretty skeptical because of the price but... Read more.

Well worth it. I was pretty skeptical because of the price but you could never tell it was scanned it looks hand written Hide.

0 of 0 people found this useful.

eriki7181
13/11/13
Weta Collector
5 stars

Blown Away

I was had secound thoughts about buying this mainly because i was... Read more.

I was had secound thoughts about buying this mainly because i was not impressed with anothor prop i bought but this is really cool and it really was money well spent. There is no way you can tell this was not done by hand it really looks authentic. Hide.

0 of 0 people found this useful.

 
scoffman
28/03/13
Gold Collector
0 stars

Response to Raegg's Review

"The only thing that keeps this from being perfect is that the... Read more.

"The only thing that keeps this from being perfect is that the edges are cut very cleanly. But then again, I have no idea how they would have been able to "fray" the edges, unless by hand, which would probably drive the price up."

Well, since the map is supposed to be 'distressed' by hand by Daniel Reeve: "Daniel painstakingly applies every crease and every wrinkle by hand, 'distressing' the paper to achieve an authentic looking prop replica" I would have thought that would include the edges, but evidently not.

I don't know how much more it would have driven up the price, but I think Daniel could have roughed up the edges of the map in about 2 or 3 minutes, which probably wouldn't have added much, if any, to the cost of the map.

It's annoying when so much attention to detail is paid to a prop replica only to have a slight oversight like this mar an otherwise superb item.

Scoff Hide.

0 of 0 people found this useful.

Raegg
11/02/13
Weta Collector
4 stars

Beautiful

Great piece! Quality paper, great idea AND execution on the runes! Attention... Read more.

Great piece! Quality paper, great idea AND execution on the runes! Attention to detail is great.

The only thing that keeps this from being perfect is that the edges are cut very cleanly. But then again, I have no idea how they would have been able to "fray" the edges, unless by hand, which would probably drive the price up. Hide.

0 of 0 people found this useful.

 
Mudshark
01/02/13
Gold Collector
5 stars

A Legendary Treasure Map

This is the perfect companion piece to the metal "Key to Erebor"... Read more.

This is the perfect companion piece to the metal "Key to Erebor" prop replica.

The map itself is beautifully rendered on heavy watercolor paper and must be seen with your own eyes to be fully appreciated. With a little creativity the moon runes can be backlit to glow with a faint bluish hue as they did in the film. This is an outstanding prop replica!

Without this map and the key to the secret passage, Thorin's quest to reclaim his home and kingdom under the mountain would have been hopeless.

If you're looking for something to help you relive the classic adventure for years to come then look no further. You will not be disappointed! Hide.

2 of 2 people found this useful.

ent18
12/01/13
Gold Collector
5 stars

Backlit Frame

Finally I have my backlit frame! http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xwon29_mapa-thorin-retroiluminado-thorin-s-map-backlit_shortfilms Do you like it? Read more.

Finally I have my backlit frame! http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xwon29_mapa-thorin-retroiluminado-thorin-s-map-backlit_shortfilms Do you like it? Hide.

0 of 1 people found this useful.

 
jessicarosepa
10/01/13
Gold Collector
5 stars

Thorin's Map = Stunning

This map is so much better than I dared hope for. This... Read more.

This map is so much better than I dared hope for. This is a small price to pay for what is effectively a work of art- and I couldn't believe the moon runes wouldn't be visible to the naked eye until I had it in my hands. Unbelievable stuff- buy and you won't regret it!

Thank you Daniel Reeve, thank you Weta. Hide.

0 of 0 people found this useful.

Ellinor
08/01/13
Gold Collector
5 stars

Thorin's Map

Absolutely love it! I don't mind it arrived without a frame, it... Read more.

Absolutely love it! I don't mind it arrived without a frame, it feels so great and you get a proper look at once it arrives. The moonrunes are fascinating, and makes me almost want to not frame it. I will however find a frame of my own liking soon. A very good buy. Hide.

0 of 0 people found this useful.

 
nzmorgs
07/01/13
Weta Collector
0 stars

Could be the real thing!

Amazing replica, looks and feels like an old used map, and the... Read more.

Amazing replica, looks and feels like an old used map, and the moon runes are amazing. I'm kind of glad it didn't come framed, so I can have a good look at it myself first. Thank you Weta! Hide.

0 of 0 people found this useful.

cristobal
07/01/13
Gold Collector
5 stars

Same paper used in the movie

It is a cool replica. I own the poster print too ,... Read more.

It is a cool replica. I own the poster print too , and the prop has more definition and subtle colour variations on the watercolour washes that are not so evident on the print.
The wrinkles are well done and the effect of moon runes are spectacular.
It could have been sold not with a frame , but with a set of leds with slow-lighting effect to be attached to a frame at home.
Anyway , a good prop made by the original artist with a cool signed COA . Hide.

3 of 4 people found this useful.